11th July 2018: Guidelines for Authors and Convenors

Preparations for the ESC2018-GA are in full swing. We have published guidelines for authors presenting oral or posters, as well guidelines for session convenors under the Important information section.

1st July 2018: Detailed programme to be published next week

The full programme of the ESC2018 will be published online next week. Details on each session, orals and poster presentation will be made available next week.

6th Jun 2018: Preliminary programme

The preliminary programme is now available. You can download the full PDF here, or click on the images below.
For more information please visit the Sessions page.

Week at a glance Monday Tuesday
Wednesday Thursday Friday

The 36th General Assembly of the European Seismological Commission

The Department of Geosciences of the University of Malta is pleased to invite seismologists, geologists and engineers to the 36th General Assembly of the European Seismological Commission (GA ESC) that will be held from the 2nd to the 7th September 2018 in Valletta, Malta.

The Assembly is primarily a meeting ground for academics and researchers working in the field of seismology and related applications, including applied and social aspects of seismology, such as earthquake hazard and risk, earthquake engineering, education and awareness, and risk prevention.

Sessions and abstracts

Over 40 sessions have been proposed covering different areas of seismology and more. Over 1,000 abstracts have been submitted. Have a look at the list of sessions and their summary here. The abstract submission process has closed on 16th April.

Young Seismologists Training Course (YSTC)

The European Seismological Commission will organise an advanced school from August 27th to 31st of August 2018. This year's training course will be dedicated to Array Seismology and it will be held at Malta University Residence. The programme will involve a series of lectures, seminars, discussions and practical exercises. More details to be announced soon, here. The application process has closed on 16th April. 

Follow us on Facebook

A dedicated Facebook event page has been set up. We invite Facebook users to join this page for a better social interaction. Please press 'attending' to the event here https://www.facebook.com/events/2088611814702035/permalink/2121827071380509/